My “interview” with Jonathan Blow.

Well, it’s a first here at UA HQ, we are preparing 2 follow up posts detailing the final days of playtesting for Board of Defectors, and a summary of the game’s rules. But then we had a small window of opportunity to interview gaming luminary, Jonathan Blow.

Who could say no? (well, he could have, but he didn’t!)

Jon Blow made one of my favorite all time games, Braid. I liked it so much that I decided to skirt the topic altogether in our conversation. Instead, I decided to ask Mr.Blow about a game a colleague of his is making: Chris Hecker’s Spy Party.

Unearthed Arcana: Hey Jon, When playing Spy Party do you prefer to play as Spy or Sniper and why?

Jonathan Blow: I don’t have a preference. They are both hard in their own ways. (It’s funny, because I thought I would like the sniper better, but I don’t think that is the case.)

Unearthed Arcana: Yeah I thought I would like Sniper better as well after playing it once at PAX. Since getting into the beta I have found that both sides being so difficult makes the Spy more fun to play, because I can at least do several things – whereas with the Sniper I do one thing, observe – before failing. Thanks for your time, and all the best with your current project – The Witness.

So there you have it, my first ever “interview” for UA and it’s with Jon Blow! This shouldn’t be too hard to follow up.

Leave a Reply

