Puzzle therapy.

Preface: I am about 2/3 of the way into the Portal2 single player campaign right now, and will be continuing to observe how the story’s conclusion may or may not affect my feelings of genuine affection towards GLaDOS and her test chambers. Spoiler alerts: Activated.

“Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the end of the testing period.” -GLaDOS

I don’t get Portal. I love playing it, the puzzle mechanics, the sense of movement, the sound design… I love them all. I love the world where Portal takes place, and I love GLaDOS. So, what is the problem? The problem is that in both games the narrative is driven by the need to escape the test chambers, something I feel no real compulsion to do. I would be happy to just continue with the tests, a rat pushing a bar to get candy, again and again.

The name itself implies change, the ability to enter a new space. I want to carry GLaDOS in my arms, across the glowing orange blue threshold of this great transition. I don’t want change though, I want more of the same. I want a safe space where I can feel stimulated.

Leave a Reply

