beginnings and underpinnings

Well, I got a job! Tomorrow I start work as a Technical Game Designer at Gameloft here in Montreal.

Tonight I’ve gotten to thinking: What lesson must I bring with me?

In the end the answer is simple enough, the lesson I have learned best this last year is that there is no end to this discussion. The ‘Brainysphere’ or ‘Middle Circle’ as I have heard it called is like a hurricane of thought… the blogs in that loose network, the comment threads, forum posts and twitter topics are sometimes imposing in their vastness, and when you approach them from the outside it is very difficult to make your way to the eye of the storm, where calm prevails again and cogent thought can be more easily shared in a real way. That’s my quest, to be able to continue to think about games, look at them from new perspectives and pierce the storm, making my way into this brilliant shared conversation that has inspired me over the last 2 or so years. Because without a noble purpose, a quest is nothing but misspent desire, a means for means sake rather than a means to an end…

“The quest stands upon the edge of a knife. Stray but a little and it will fail. But hope remains, if friends stay true.”

Leave a Reply

