Akira Committee

I’ve been thinking about the two English language versions of Akira and why I like the “better” one less. It’s fascinating stuff really. In revisiting this movie I remembered something that always struck me as a kid. The name of the studio that made it as listed in the opening credits: “Akira Committee”. As a kid the idea of a company being like a committee appealed to me. I’m not sure why exactly. I would definitely consider myself a team player, and a person who appreciates fair play. ____ by Committee, though often used disparagingly, has an appeal to me.

The other thing is the idea that this committee got together for this specific project alone… So much so that they named themselves after their project!

Whenever I’m working with a team I like to think of this model, the committee brought together with a common goal, a mission statement, a deadline, a shared responsibility for the success of our project. I worked as a test lead at VMC here in Montreal towards the beginning of my career in games and it was that kind of spirit I tried to bring to my team. It worked wonders.

2 Responses to “Akira Committee”

  1. Next time you’re rolling a wall, remember that you are a “team player”.

  2. I’m trying to share the wonder of HoriMori with the “team”. #UnifyingElephant #The4ElementsOfDripDrop

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 356 other followers

